top of page

Farm Life is Tough, but Sweet


I just finished cutting, splitting, and stacking the wood that we will need next winter. It was a LOT of work! I was raised a city slicker, so I'm constantly thinking about how much time I'm wasting cutting wood, mowing pastures, shoveling horse shit, etc. Is it wasted time? Honestly, I struggle to answer that question.

For now, I wouldn't trade farm life for anything else, because it's great to have some land and some animals. But it really takes a lot of time and effort to keep things running smoothly. It beats hanging out at work, but work is work, even when you're surrounded by trees, birds, and horses. I once heard somebody say that nobody on his deathbed wishes he spent more time at work. That's probably true, but I'm willing to bet that few people wish they spent more time splitting wood. I really like looking at that pile of wood, though. It's quite an accomplishment, and it will be nearly 80 degrees in our house on the coldest winter days. That's good stuff, at least for now. Some day I'm going to tire of farm life and return to being a city slicker. I won't be able to pee outside anymore, but I won't waste my time chopping fire wood, either.

Featured Posts
Archive
bottom of page